top of page
  • Writer's pictureAsh L. Scipio

My Top Five Self Care Apps

Updated: Jan 3, 2019

If you're anything like me, you spend a lot of time on your phone. You swipe endlessly from Instagram to Snapchat to Twitter to Facebook and repeat it like clockwork! But sometimes, being on these social media sites can unconsciously drain us. We can start comparing ourselves to the people we see on these sites and begin to hold ourselves to these high, unlikely standards. It's good to tune it out sometimes and hear words of encouragement to bring us out of that hole. I do this by going on my favorite self care apps. I hope these help you, too!


1. Eternal Sunshine


This app is my absolute favorite! Created by Londrelle Hall, Eternal Sunshine is an app that does everything for your self care needs. It nourishes your mind, body, and soul by providing you with beautiful daily affirmations, guided meditation sessions, morning mindfulness sessions, and inspirational talks. And if that's not enough, there is also his book "Eternal Sunshine" full of beautiful gems to help you realize your self worth and potential.


2. Calm


Calm is an app that becomes an anxiety sufferer's best friend. Calm is a meditation app that provides you with a variety of different meditation techniques, methods, and soundtracks to help you calm down and relax. It also has sleep soundtracks with rain sounds, ocean sounds, and other nature sounds to help you sleep. I heard they also have adult bedtime stories, but that's a little too creepy for me.


3. Grateful: A Gratitude Journal


Who knew that journaling could be made even easier? You know that I'm a big fan of journaling and what it does for your mental health, so this app is one of my personal favorites. Grateful is a gratitude journal that allows you to write one thing that happened in your day that you were grateful for. It starts with a journal prompt (you can make your own prompts, too) and then you answer them. Some people write full journal entries, and some people use it to write daily affirmations like, "I'm grateful to have loving friends and family who always support me." It allows you to realize life's many moments and to appreciate the little things.


4. Aloe Bud

This is the cutest self-care app I've seen yet! Aloe Bud allows you to make your own routines and set alarms to them. Currently, I have alarms for my breathing exercises, yoga sessions, and of course, snack time. Having these alarms for these activities allows me to have time to myself and really cater to my needs instead of constantly being on the go and wearing myself down.


5. Happify

Happify is an app that caters exactly to what the name says - your happiness! Offered in both app and website form, Happify is a self-improvement app that is programmed to help you improve things about your mental health that you may want to work on. For example, if you want to work on being more positive and not focusing as much on the negative, there is a track to listen to that will help you and give you tips to help you improve on your positive thinking. You should still read my Project Positivity Journals, though.



These apps have all been approved by mental health counselors and therapists, and are ready for your use. Download these apps today to cater to your self-care needs!

35 views0 comments
bottom of page