top of page
  • Writer's pictureAsh L. Scipio

Be Bold in 2019 with Black Gold

Updated: Jan 19, 2019





Every year, I make these resolutions. For my junior year of high school, it was to maintain my weight and tone up. For my senior year, it was to do all I could do to graduate with honors. But for 2018, I didn't make any. I declared that New Year's Resolutions were fake and served no real purpose. I went into 2018 with false ideals and a negative mindset. Looking back, this set the tone for my whole year. I would dwell on my shortcomings and threw myself elaborate pity parties. I gave up on myself and my brand, and let myself fall into a deep depression and a state of constant anxiety and worry. I became an extreme introvert, confining myself to the four walls of my college dorm and holing myself into the holy space of my bed. I did all this, and had the nerve to wonder why things weren't going my way, or why I was feeling so badly. I was sheltered, sad, and felt incomplete.


Then one day, I was looking at old pictures of myself from when I was a senior in high school. I was so happy then. I was excited about little things, joyous about my relationships with others, and motivated to be the best I could be. What happened to me? I wondered. What was I doing then that made me so happy? Then I stumbled across an old logo of my old brand, "The Black Gold Series". I wrote about music, life, mental health, and positivity. I posted regularly and was so excited about furthering my site.


Writing is my passion. Writing is what allows me to breathe and think and create. It's the fuel that keeps me going, because healing and entertaining others with my words, heals me.


So this year, I have a New Year's Resolution. I wrote a list of things I wanted to accomplish or improve about myself, and it all stemmed down to one thing - being bold. I have so much I want to do and so much that I want to say, and this is my first act of being bold - sharing this long awaited brand with the world. So, I challenge you all to be more bold with me. Go after your dreams! If something is bothering you, speak up on it! And most importantly, speak things into existence. You are black gold, and you deserve to be bold.





11 views0 comments
bottom of page