top of page
  • Writer's pictureAsh L. Scipio

February: Katrina Gainey


Katrina Gainey - Winthrop University Sophomore

I've been so excited to start this series "Golden Child of the Month". We're living in a time where everything is unpredictable and strange. We have a tumultuous presidency - which sets the tone for the mood of the whole nation. People of color feel as if they don't have a voice and are struggling to be heard and be recognized fully.


I'm happy to have my first Golden Child be someone whose voice is always heard no matter what (because she will make sure you hear her). One of my closest friends and motivators, Katrina Gainey, is the Golden Child for the month of February.


If you know Katrina now, you know she's well known, mostly for her distinct and fun voice and her ability to never meet a stranger; but she wasn't always this way. In high school, Gainey was an introvert by the definition.


"I used to sit in the classroom during lunch and read books just because I didn't want to talk to people," she said.


I asked her how she went from someone who reads alone at lunch to someone who is involved in two organizations, a proud member of the Chi Omega sorority, and a Resident Assistant for an on-campus dorm?


"I literally just started forcing myself to talk to people and put myself out there."


Gainey founded and is President of the organization L.A.D.I.E.S. (Ladies Achieving Diversity, Independence, Empowerment, and Success), an organization focused on the advancement and empowerment of all women and identifying persons. So far, the organization has held bake sales, done numerous community service activities, and held karaoke nights and paint nights for people on campus and Gainey plans on doing so much more.


"I want L.A.D.I.E.S. to be an organization that people are proud to be apart of and to help it grow as well."


She says that she also wants the organization to help her members learn the value and impact of community service and how serving your community can come back to you.



Gainey majors in Social Work, which she considers her passion.


"Without it, I would not have the same morals and values that I live by. My major keeps me grounded."


Being involved in so many things at once can take its toll, but Gainey learns to manage it by her faith in God and living by this quote: "Just take it one day at a time".


"I stress over the littlest things... This motivates me because one day may be harder than the other but tomorrow can be better than the last."


Personally, I'm so grateful for her being the first friend I made when I came to Winthrop University. She's not only a great motivator, but a great friend and a light to anyone who encounters her. She is truly "black gold".


Social Medias:

Instagram - @simplytrina___

Twitter - @simplytrina____



59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page